Reference Ionosphere

Improved Real-Time Ionospheric Predictions with Data
from Spaceborne Sensors and GNSS

27 September 2021
- 8 October 2021

COSPAR Capacity-Building Workshop

27 September - 8 October 2021

This COSPAR Capacity Building Workshop combines a week of lectures, tutorials, and project work for students with a week- long IRI Workshop. The project work continues during the IRI Workshop week and the students will be able to attend and present their work during the IRI Workshop.

During the workshop, the students will engage in a series of interactive lectures and tutorials covering how to access/ analyze the data set and use a model (e.g., IRI) to understand and predict the ionosphere. Groups of 4-5 students will work together on specific science projects.

Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute (KASI) will host the workshop. COSPAR and KASI will support lodging, meals, and airfare for 30-35 awarded trainees depending on the total budgets.

IRI 2021 Workshop

4 - 8 October 2021

The International Reference Ionosphere (IRI) is an international project sponsored by the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) and the International Union of Radio Science (URSI). These organizations formed a Working Group in the late sixties to produce an empirical standard model of the ionosphere, based on all available data sources. Several steadily improved editions of the model have been released. For given location, time and date, IRI provides monthly averages of the electron density, electron temperature, ion temperature, and ion composition in the ionospheric altitude range.

The IRI Workshop is open to all interested scientists. We welcome presentations that are IRI-related including comparisons of ground- and space-based data with IRI, improvements and applications of the model, and assimilation of data into IRI to bring it closer to real-time conditions.

Key Dates

Training Application
by 15 May 2021
IRI Workshop Registration
by 15 May 2021
IRI Workshop Abstract Submission
by 15 May 2021
Announcement of Acceptance
by 31 May 2021
Supported by
Registration/Abstract Submission